Found Reel-to-Reel Tape Recording

 

photo-of-found-reel-to-reel

Several weeks ago, I was exceptionally fortunate to acquire a working vintage ST 471 Stellaphone Portable reel-to-reel tape recorder complete with microphone and two reels! It discovered in a box of junk being given away for free (even better!) near where I live. The ST 471 was first cleaned up, then utilised in several works such as Sound Art is D.E.A.D. and Ambient Mono Bird Loop.

I finally found the time to play tape it was loaded with (which was quite tatty and stretched), sadly it was predominately blank; however, the last minute yielded this intriguing and somewhat eerie recording. Apart from some very minimal editing this is the recording I discovered in all its glory. From about 11 to 45 seconds it reminds me of a motorcycle revving up or lion roaring, the rest could be a murky synth work…?! If you have any thoughts, please do get in touch!

Comments are closed.

